There Is Always Someone Who Loves You

Melissa Boles
5 min readJul 8, 2020

Being in love with someone that doesn’t return your love is exhausting. It is frustrating and terrible and it changes you.

In March of 2009, I fell in love with a boy who walked around campus barefoot dancing to Jackie Greene and loving on everyone. He was a religious explorer, a green grass lover with exponential potential, and I was head over heels. He took me to a Buddhist temple and a Catholic mass, and three weeks later he called and yelled his excitement into my voicemail when I was chosen for a trip to Kenya with a poverty and AIDS awareness campaign. He hugged me tight before I left, and I spent the whole flight to DC wishing he was coming with me.

I was only in Kenya for a week, but it changed my life. I met children who walked more miles to and from school each day than I had walked in 10 years; men, women, and children living with HIV/AIDS; commercial sex workers; and people who were living in a slum so packed that they were literally living on top of each other. I returned to the states devastated and emotionally exhausted, but for the first time felt I really understood God and how amazing people can be.

I got off the plane wanting to change the world, but my own was shattered 15 minutes after coming through customs. My uncle had died the day that I landed in Nairobi, and I hadn’t been called to return for the…

--

--

Melissa Boles

she/her. writer. storyteller. impatient optimist. greater fool. fat queer. melissaboles.com. @melloftheball.